Three things to remember during times of market volatility

Abstract graphs

With the widespread outbreak of the coronavirus, markets are reacting to the impact on the global economy. Financial markets can be subject to periods of event-related volatility that may leave you feeling anxious with your investments, but it’s important to keep in mind that time in the market beats timing the market. Also, consider the time horizon you have for your investments.

There are three key things for you to remember during times of market volatility:

 

1.Volatility is a normal part of long-term investing.

It’s important to take a step back during volatile times and keep an open mindset. By accepting short-term volatility, you can stay focused on long-term investment goals and take advantage of lower prices.


2. Market corrections can create attractive opportunities.

Corrections are a normal part of the stock market. They can be good opportunities to invest in equities as valuations become more attractive, which will give you the potential to generate above-average returns when the market rebounds.

3. Avoid stopping and starting investments.

If you remain invested, you will likely benefit from the long-term uptrend in stock markets. If you try to time the market, and stop and start your investments, you run the risk of hurting future returns by missing the best recovery days in the market.

 

Above all, the most important thing to remember is that your existing investment plan likely considers stock market volatility and has been carefully designed with your personal goals in mind.





From time to time a manager, analyst or other Fidelity employee may express views regarding a particular company, security, and industry or market sector. The views expressed by any such person are the views of only that individual as of the time expressed and do not necessarily represent the views of Fidelity or any other person in the Fidelity organization. Any such views are subject to change at any time, based upon markets and other conditions, and Fidelity disclaims any responsibility to update such views. These views may not be relied on as investment advice and, because investment decisions for a Fidelity Fund are based on numerous factors, may not be relied on as an indication of trading intent on behalf of any Fidelity Fund.
Commissions, trailing commissions, management fees, brokerage fees and expenses may be associated with investments in mutual funds, asset allocation services and ETFs. Please read the mutual fund or ETF’s prospectus, which contains detailed investment information, before investing. Mutual funds and ETFs are not guaranteed. Their values change frequently. Past performance may not be repeated.
This information is for general knowledge only and should not be interpreted as financial or tax advice or recommendations. Every individual’s situation is unique and should be reviewed by his or her own personal financial and tax professional.
Read a fund’s or pool’s prospectus or offering memorandum and speak to an advisor before investing. Read our privacy policy. By using or logging in to this website, you consent to the use of cookies as described in our privacy policy.

Read a fund’s or pool’s prospectus or offering memorandum and speak to an advisor before investing. Read our privacy policy. By using or logging in to this website, you consent to the use of cookies as described in our privacy policy.

This site is for persons in Canada only. Mutual funds and ETFs sponsored by Fidelity Investments Canada ULC are only qualified for sale in the provinces and territories of Canada.

297610-v2020617

Close Search

Trois éléments à retenir en période de volatilité des marchés

Abstract graphs

La propagation à grande échelle du coronavirus et son incidence sur l’économie mondiale ne laissent pas les marchés indifférents. Les marchés de capitaux connaissent parfois des périodes de volatilité liées à un événement particulier qui peuvent vous faire craindre pour vos placements. Or, sachez que la durée d’un placement sur le marché l’emporte sur la synchronisation du marché. Qui plus est, il importe de tenir compte de l’horizon temporel de vos placements.

En période de volatilité des marchés, rappelez-vous ces trois règles :

1. La volatilité fait partie intégrante de l’investissement à long terme.

Il est important de prendre du recul durant les périodes de volatilité et de garder l’esprit ouvert. Le fait d’accepter la volatilité à court terme vous permet de maintenir le cap sur vos objectifs de placement à long terme et de profiter de prix moins élevés.
 

2. Les corrections boursières peuvent créer des occasions intéressantes.

Tout marché boursier subit des corrections. Celles-ci peuvent présenter de bonnes occasions d’acquérir des actions, puisque les valorisations deviennent alors plus attrayantes, ce qui peut potentiellement vous procurer des rendements supérieurs à la moyenne lorsque le marché se redresse.
 

3. Il faut éviter d’interrompre et de reprendre ses placements.

Si vous conservez vos placements, il est fort probable que vous profitiez de la croissance des marchés boursiers à long terme. En revanche, si vous tentez de prédire l’orientation du marché et que vous interrompez et reprenez vos placements, vous risquez d’éroder vos rendements futurs en ratant les meilleurs jours de reprise sur les marchés.

 

Surtout, retenez ceci : votre plan de placement actuel tient compte de la volatilité du marché boursier et il a été soigneusement conçu en fonction de vos objectifs personnels.




De temps à autre, un gestionnaire, analyste ou autre employé de Fidelity peut exprimer une opinion sur une société, un titre, une industrie ou un secteur du marché. Les opinions exprimées par ces personnes représentent un point de vue personnel à un moment donné et ne constituent pas nécessairement celles de Fidelity ou d’autres personnes au sein de l’organisation. Ces opinions sont appelées à changer à tout moment en fonction de l’évolution des marchés et d’autres facteurs, et Fidelity décline toute responsabilité en ce qui a trait à la mise à jour de ces points de vue. Ceux-ci ne peuvent pas être considérés comme des conseils en placement fiables, ni comme une indication d’achat ou de vente visant un Fonds Fidelity, car les décisions de placement relatives aux Fonds Fidelity sont prises en fonction de nombreux facteurs.
Ces renseignements sont de nature générale et ne doivent pas être interprétés comme des recommandations ou des conseils d’ordre financier ou fiscal. La situation de chacun est unique et doit être soigneusement examinée par un conseiller financier et fiscal.
Tout placement effectué dans un fonds commun de placement et un FNB ou par l’intermédiaire d’un service de répartition de l’actif peut donner lieu à des commissions, des commissions de suivi, des frais de gestion, des frais de courtage et des charges. Veuillez lire le prospectus d’un fonds ou d’un FNB avant d’investir, car il contient des renseignements détaillés sur le placement. Les fonds communs de placement et les FNB ne sont pas garantis. Leur valeur est appelée à fluctuer fréquemment. Le rendement passé pourrait ou non être reproduit.

Veuillez lire le prospectus ou la notice d'offre d'un fonds ou d’un mandat et consulter un conseiller en placements avant d’investir. Veuillez lire notre politique de confidentialité. En utilisant notre site Web ou en ouvrant une session, vous consentez à l’utilisation de témoins, telle qu’elle est décrite dans notre politique de confidentialité.  

Ce site est réservé aux personnes qui résident au Canada. Les fonds communs de placement et les FNB commandités par Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. ne peuvent être vendus que dans les provinces et territoires du Canada.

297610-v2020617

Close Search