Trade wars, belts, roads and all in between

Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Over the past year, the news flow from China that has affected frontier markets has been about either the China-U.S. trade war (its impact has been reviewed in previous blogs) or China’s “Belt and Road Initiative” (BRI for short). The latter, an odd-sounding entity, and its potential impact on global markets are difficult for many global investors to understand.

Recently, China wrapped up its Second Annual Belt and Road Initiative (BRI) Forum in Beijing. The BRI Forum included 37 heads of state (including two EU members), and 173 co-operation documents were signed with 125 countries. The event was the culmination of a broad-based foreign and economic strategy that began in 2013, focused on 84 countries (and counting). Of the countries targeted, 75% are classified as “frontier markets,” and 40% are located in Asia. So China’s strategy, which is multi-faceted and complex, is likely to have an impact on both frontier and emerging markets.

From my perspective, the key to understanding BRI is to widen one’s historical and economic lens. On the historical side, the BRI policy is part of what can be called China’s “reversion” to developed market status, which began after the death of Chairman Mao in 1972. What do I mean by that? China has over 5,000 years of rich history, and during that period, was one of the world’s most powerful countries. Those years of supremacy included a central role in global trade (part of which was the fabled “Silk Road”) and having direct influence over a large Asian region. The nineteenth century (as seen in Chart 1) was more difficult (in China it is known as the “century of humiliation”), and China reached its ultimate low when it almost consumed itself in the Cultural Revolution and Great Leap Forward. With the death of Mao and reforms by Deng Xiaoping (whose economic reforms were recognized by Time Magazine, which awarded Deng the title “Man of the Year” in 1977), China began a path back to “normal”.                  

 

Chart 1: Global GDP % share since 1000
Chart 1:  Line graph showing fluctuations of U.S., China and Euro area GDP as percentage of Global from year 1000 to 2015.  China's changes described in previous paragraph.
Source: Angus Madison.

 

On the economic side, we need to look at investment flows beyond the headlines. For most investors, BRI news usually revolves around large-scale Chinese government infrastructure projects (such as the coal-fired power plants shown in Chart 2) in emerging and frontier markets such as Pakistan, Sri Lanka or Malaysia. Most projects are seen as opaque and risky for the receiving country (we have seen projects cancelled in Malaysia, stalled in Africa and re-evaluated in Sri Lanka).

 

Chart 2: Coal-fired capacity under development with Chinese finance
Chart 2:  Map showing countries with coal-fired capacity, financed by China as of July 2018.  The impact of this investment described in the previous paragraph.
Source: Global Coal Plant Tracker (July 2018, Institute for Energy Economics and Financial Analysis).

 

To better understand this “Chinese normalization” process via the BRI, we must analyze capital flow data that include not only infrastructure spending but also private business reactions to the broader BRI policy framework. Accordingly, foreign direct investment (FDI) is likely the best proxy to understand the impact of BRI on frontier markets. Chart 3 outlines Chinese FDI data and breaks it down by region of destination and use of proceeds.

Chart 3:  Chinese FDI in 2017

  Private FDI Infrastructure Global M&A
DM 25.9% 8.7% 75.5%
Asia 44.8% 40.0% 12.8%
Latam 8.9% 7.3% 8.8%
ME/Africa 20.4% 44.0% 2.9%

Source: Citibank.

The data indicates that most infrastructure spending is directed at the Middle East and Africa (mostly for fossil fuel extraction in countries such as Angola). But we also see private businesses spending nearly 50% of these flows in Asia (mostly Southeast Asia). This trend is driven by Chinese companies investing in new factories in BRI countries (mostly in Vietnam). These companies, which focus primarily on light manufacturing (textiles, toys, etc.), are reacting to the BRI economic strategy (i.e. China moving up the value chain and focus on robotics, aerospace, etc.). Hence government support is likely less going forward, and so too is taking advantage of lower operating costs in countries like Bangladesh. The U.S.-China trade war has merely accelerated this trend. Conversely, other Chinese companies that are keen to move up the value curve have ventured into developed markets such as the U.S. and Europe, and bought businesses for patents, technology and other IP.

Therefore, I believe the best opportunities for frontier investors are in specific frontier countries, such as Vietnam and Bangladesh, that are benefiting from the private capital flows. Consumers in these markets should experience rising incomes from manufacturing jobs as the countries gain export market share. And this trend is sustainable over the medium to long term as China reasserts itself in the global economy.

Thanks for reading!

Adam J. Kutas, CFA


Commissions, trailing commissions, management fees and expenses all may be associated with mutual fund investments. Please read the prospectus, which contains detailed investment information, before investing. Mutual funds are not guaranteed, their values change frequently, and past performance may not be repeated.

Certain Statements in this commentary may contain forward-looking statements (“FLS”) that are predictive in nature and may include words such as “expects”, “anticipates”, “intends”, “plans”, “believes”, “estimates” and similar forward-looking expressions or negative versions thereof. FLS are based on current expectations and projections about future general economic, political and relevant market factors, such as interest and assuming no changes to applicable tax or other laws or government regulation. Expectations and projections about future events are inherently subject to, among other things, risks and uncertainties, some of which may be unforeseeable and, accordingly, may prove to be incorrect at a future date. FLS are not guarantees of future performance, and actual events could differ materially from those expressed or implied in any FLS. A number of important factors can contribute to these digressions, including, but not limited to, general economic, political and market factors in North America and internationally, interest and foreign exchange rates, global equity and capital markets, business competition and catastrophic events. You should avoid placing any undue reliance on FLS. Further, there is no specific intentional of updating any FLS whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.

From time to time a manager, analyst or other Fidelity employee may express views regarding a particular company, security, and industry or market sector. The views expressed by any such person are the views of only that individual as of the time expressed and do not necessarily represent the views of Fidelity or any other person in the Fidelity organization. Any such views are subject to change at any time, based upon markets and other conditions, and Fidelity disclaims any responsibility to update such views. These views may not be relied on as investment advice and, because investment decisions for a Fidelity Fund are based on numerous factors, may not be relied on as an indication of trading intent on behalf of any Fidelity Fund.

Read a fund’s or pool’s prospectus or offering memorandum and speak to an advisor before investing. Read our privacy policy. By using or logging in to this website, you consent to the use of cookies as described in our privacy policy.

This site is for persons in Canada only. Mutual funds and ETFs sponsored by Fidelity Investments Canada ULC are only qualified for sale in the provinces and territories of Canada.

229233-v20191021

Close Search

Conflits commerciaux, route de la soie et tout le reste

Phnom Penh, Cambodge

Au cours de la dernière année, les nouvelles en provenance de Chine qui ont influencé les marchés frontaliers portaient sur la guerre commerciale sino-américaine (dont j’ai examiné les répercussions dans des billets précédents) ou sur l’Initiative ceinture et route (ICR). Cette dernière, une entité au nom étrange, et ses répercussions potentielles sur les marchés mondiaux sont difficiles à comprendre pour de nombreux investisseurs mondiaux.

La Chine a récemment bouclé son deuxième forum annuel sur l’Initiative ceinture et route, à Beijing. Ce forum, qui a réuni 37 chefs d’État (dont 2 de l’Union européenne), a permis la signature de 173 accords de coopération avec 125 pays. Cet événement a été le point culminant d’une vaste stratégie de politique étrangère et économique amorcée en 2013 et axée sur 84 pays (un nombre qui continue d’augmenter). Le groupe de pays visé est composé à 75 % de pays appartenant à la catégorie des marchés frontaliers et à 40 % de pays asiatiques. Par conséquent, la stratégie de la Chine, multifacette et complexe, devrait avoir une incidence tant sur les marchés émergents que frontaliers.

Pour comprendre l’ICR, il faut selon moi adopter une vision historique et économique plus large. Du point de vue historique, l’ICR s’inscrit dans ce que l’on peut appeler le « retour » de la Chine au statut de pays développé, retour amorcé après la mort du président Mao, en 1972. De quoi s’agit-il, exactement? La Chine a une riche histoire qui s’étale sur plus de 5 000 ans, période durant laquelle elle a été un des pays les plus puissants du monde et a joué un rôle central dans le commerce mondial (notamment grâce à la fameuse Route de la soie), exerçant une influence directe sur une grande partie de l’Asie. Le XIXe siècle (voir le graphique 1) a été plus difficile (en Chine, cette période est connue sous le nom de « siècle de l’humiliation »), car la révolution culturelle et le Grand Bond en avant ont mené le pays au bord du gouffre. Après la mort de Mao et les politiques de Deng Xiaoping (dont les réformes économiques lui ont valu le titre d’homme de l’année, décerné par Time Magazine en 1977), la Chine a entrepris un « retour à la normale ».   

Graphique 1 – Part du PIB mondial depuis l’an 1000 (%)
Graphique linéaire reflétant les fluctuations du PIB mondial en tant que pourcentage pour les États-Unis, la Chine et la zone euro de l’an 1000 à 2015. Les changements pour la Chine sont décrits dans le paragraphe précédent.
Source : Angus Madison.

Du point de vue économique, il faut aller au-delà des manchettes lorsque nous analysons les flux d’investissements. Pour la plupart des investisseurs qui entendent parler de l’ICR, l’actualité tourne généralement autour des vastes projets d’infrastructures du gouvernement chinois (comme les centrales au charbon, graphique 2) dans les pays émergents et frontaliers, comme le Pakistan, le Sri Lanka ou la Malaisie. La plupart des projets sont considérés comme opaques et risqués pour les pays destinataires (certains projets ont été annulés en Malaisie, interrompus en Afrique et réévalués au Sri Lanka).

Graphique 2 – Capacité des projets de centrales au charbon actuellement financés par la Chine
Carte indiquant les pays où la Chine finançait des usines de charbon en 2018 et capacité des usines en megawatts. L’incidence de cet investissement est décrit dans le paragraphe précédent.
Source : Global Coal Plant Tracker (juillet 2018, Institute for Energy Economics and Financial Analysis).

Pour mieux comprendre ce retour à la normale opéré par la Chine par le biais de l’ICR, il nous faut analyser les flux de capitaux, qui incluent non seulement les dépenses en infrastructures, mais aussi les réactions des entreprises privées aux politiques qui encadrent l’ICR. L’investissement direct étranger (IDÉ) est probablement le meilleur indicateur à utiliser pour comprendre l’incidence de l’ICR sur les marchés frontaliers. Le tableau ci-dessous présente des données chiffrées sur les capitaux chinois investis à l’étranger et les catégorise par région destinataire et par utilisation prévue.

Tableau 1 : Investissements directs chinois à l’étranger en 2017

  Investissements directs privés Infrastructures Fusions-acquisitions mondiales
MD 25,9 % 8,7 % 75,5 %
Asie 44,8 % 40,0 % 12,8 %
Amérique latine 8,9 % 7,3 % 8,8 %
MO/Afrique 20,4 % 44,0 % 2,9 %

Source : Citibank.

On constate que la plupart des dépenses en infrastructures sont destinées au Moyen-Orient et à l’Afrique (principalement pour l’extraction de combustibles fossiles dans des pays comme l’Angola). On voit aussi que les capitaux des entreprises privées représentent près de 50 % des investissements destinés à l’Asie (particulièrement à l’Asie du Sud-Est). Cette tendance est alimentée par les sociétés chinoises qui financent de nouvelles usines dans les pays participant à l’ICR (principalement au Vietnam). Ces entreprises, qui se concentrent sur la fabrication légère (textiles, jouets, etc.), réagissent à la stratégie économique de l’ICR (p. ex., la Chine grimpe la chaîne de valeur, on met l’accent sur la robotique, l’aérospatiale, etc.). Le soutien du gouvernement est donc appelé à diminuer, tout comme les avantages liés à la relative faiblesse des coûts d’exploitation dans des pays comme le Bangladesh. La guerre commerciale entre les États-Unis et la Chine n’a fait qu’accélérer cette tendance. À l’inverse, d’autres entreprises chinoises, qui cherchent à grimper dans la courbe de valeur, se sont lancées sur des marchés développés comme les États-Unis et l’Europe et ont acheté des sociétés pour acquérir des brevets, des technologies et d’autres types de propriété intellectuelle.

C’est pourquoi les meilleures occasions à saisir sur les marchés frontaliers résident selon moi dans certains pays spécifiques, comme le Vietnam et le Bangladesh, qui bénéficient de flux de capitaux privés. Sur ces marchés, les consommateurs devraient voir leurs revenus augmenter grâce aux emplois du secteur manufacturier, alors que les pays en question accroîtront leur part du marché des exportations. De plus, cette tendance est viable à moyen terme et long terme, car la Chine continuera de réaffirmer sa position au sein de l’économie mondiale.

Merci d’avoir lu ce billet.

Adam J. Kutas, CFA


Les placements dans les fonds communs de placement peuvent être assortis de commissions, de commissions de suivi, de frais de gestion et de charges. Veuillez lire le prospectus d’un fonds avant d’investir, car il contient des renseignements détaillés sur les placements. Les fonds communs de placement ne sont pas garantis; leur valeur est appelée à fluctuer fréquemment et le rendement passé pourrait ou non être reproduit.

Certaines déclarations formulées dans ce commentaire peuvent contenir des énoncés prospectifs de nature prévisionnelle pouvant inclure des termes tels que « prévoit », « anticipe », « a l’intention », « planifie », « croit », « estime » et d’autres expressions semblables ou leurs versions négatives correspondantes. Les énoncés prospectifs s’appuient sur des attentes et prévisions visant des facteurs généraux pertinents liés à la situation économique, au contexte politique et aux conditions du marché, comme les taux d’intérêt, et supposent qu’aucun changement n’est apporté au taux d’imposition en vigueur ni aux autres lois ou législations gouvernementales applicables. Les attentes et les prévisions à l’égard d’événements futurs sont intrinsèquement soumises, entre autres, aux risques et incertitudes parfois imprévisibles, et peuvent, par conséquent, se révéler incorrectes dans le futur. Les énoncés prospectifs ne sont pas une garantie des rendements futurs, et les événements réels pourraient être substantiellement différents de ceux anticipés ou projetés dans les énoncés prospectifs. Certains éléments importants peuvent contribuer à ces écarts, y compris, notamment, les facteurs généraux liés à la situation économique, au contexte politique et aux conditions du marché en Amérique du Nord ou ailleurs dans le monde, les taux d’intérêt et de change, les marchés boursiers et les marchés des capitaux mondiaux, la concurrence commerciale et les catastrophes. Vous devez donc éviter de vous fier indûment aux énoncés prospectifs. En outre, nous n’avons pas l’intention de mettre à jour ces énoncés à la suite de l’obtention de nouveaux renseignements, de la concrétisation d’événements futurs ou pour quelque autre raison que ce soit.

De temps à autre, un gestionnaire, analyste ou autre employé de Fidelity peut exprimer une opinion sur une société, un titre, une industrie ou un secteur du marché. Les opinions exprimées par ces personnes représentent un point de vue personnel à un moment donné et ne constituent pas nécessairement celles de Fidelity ou d’autres personnes au sein de l’organisation. Ces opinions sont appelées à changer à tout moment en fonction de l’évolution des marchés et d’autres facteurs, et Fidelity décline toute responsabilité en ce qui a trait à la mise à jour de ces points de vue. Ceux-ci ne peuvent pas être considérés comme des conseils en placement fiables, ni comme une indication d’achat ou de vente visant un des Fonds Fidelity, car les décisions de placement relatives aux Fonds Fidelity sont prises en fonction de nombreux facteurs.

Veuillez lire le prospectus ou la notice d'offre d'un fonds ou d’un mandat et consulter un conseiller en placements avant d’investir. Veuillez lire notre politique de confidentialité. En utilisant notre site Web ou en ouvrant une session, vous consentez à l’utilisation de témoins, telle qu’elle est décrite dans notre politique de confidentialité.  

Ce site est réservé aux personnes qui résident au Canada. Les fonds communs de placement et les FNB commandités par Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. ne peuvent être vendus que dans les provinces et territoires du Canada.

229233-v20191021

Close Search