"Hit ‘em where they ain’t"

David Wolf l Portfolio Manager
David Tulk, CFA l Portfolio Manager

 

Key takeaways

  • “It ain’t what you don’t know that gets you in trouble, it’s what you know for sure that just ain’t so.”
  • Markets seem overly confident in US equities, undershooting inflation and Canadian economic resilience
  • We are positioned in our multi asset class funds to take the other side

As 2020 kicks off, let us begin by offering two famous quotations (variously attributed to Mark Twain or Yogi Berra among others) that we believe contain great and perhaps surprising wisdom for investors.

“Making predictions is hard, especially about the future.”

 

The dawn of a new year inevitably brings with it a slew of economic and market predictions for the year ahead. In aggregate these form consensus expectations that determine the pricing of financial assets. But these predictions are almost invariably wrong.  New information challenges the consensus and the market adjusts, often significantly. For example, the dovish pivot from the Federal Reserve caught many by surprise and led to a very strong 2019 for both global stocks and bonds. Now just in January, the emergence of the Wuhan coronavirus and heightened tensions in the Middle East have already challenged many 2020 outlooks. The lesson here is that forecasting may be a necessary exercise for investors, but it is an exceptionally difficult one.

 

“It ain’t what you don’t know that gets you in trouble, it’s what you know for sure that just ain’t so.”

 

It is a very human tendency to think that the world is more predictable than it actually is.  This often leads to inappropriate certainty among investors, with market pricing to match.  Following on the example above, a year ago markets were convinced that 10-year US Treasury yields would edge back up towards cycle highs around 3.25%. In fact, yields ended up 2019 at barely half that level as the global economy weakened and the Fed eased. 

A cornerstone of our investing approach, therefore, is not to take on the almost-impossible challenge of out-forecasting markets, but rather to look for opportunities where markets themselves appear certain about things they have no business being so certain about, and then take the other side.

With this approach in mind, and as we embark on a new decade, we discuss below three areas where we are positioning the Canadian multi asset class funds to take advantage of consensus expectations that look vulnerable to surprise:

 

Outperformance of the US equity market?

Investors have been convinced that the US equity market is the place to be. This has certainly been the case over the last decade, as the US equity market delivered a total return of around 250% versus 65% from the rest of the world (see Chart 1). The outperformance has been due not only to the relative strength of the US economy over this period but also the kind of companies listed in the US, notably the prevalence of growth-oriented technology stocks.

Chart 1 – An unsustainable-looking divergence

Chart 1 – An unsustainable-looking divergence
Equity prices
Chart 1 – An unsustainable-looking divergence Equity prices
Sources: S&P, MSCI, Haver Analytics, FMR Co.

 

The divergence between the US and other markets (which not coincidentally resembles the style divergence between growth and value stocks) may indeed have been warranted based on differing fundamentals over the past ten years.  However, such divergences historically have almost always reversed as investors get overconfident that the trend will continue forever, creating opportunities for contrarians. As a result, we have been moving equity capital out of the US to other areas of the world that have been left behind.  In many parts of European, Japanese and EM equity markets, there looks to be more room to outperform expectations than in the more expensive US market, where many companies seem priced for perfection.

 

Inflation will never return?

Chart 2 shows a market-based proxy for Canadian inflation expectations, which is running well below the 2% rate the Bank of Canada is mandated to deliver. The same story is largely true in many other parts of the world; markets generally seem convinced that inflation is gone for good. This expectation is certainly consistent with the past decade where inflation has remained stubbornly low despite the extraordinary efforts of central banks to inject unprecedented amounts of stimulus into the global economy. But in our view, it may be this very lack of inflation that makes higher inflation a greater risk down the road, primarily for the following reason.

Chart 2 – ‘Free insurance’ against inflation

Chart 2 – ‘Free insurance’ against inflation
Difference between nominal and real yields of Canadian government bonds
Chart 2 – ‘Free insurance’ against inflation
Sources: Haver Analytics, FMR Co

 

In the view of many, central bankers have been less effective in generating good economic outcomes and more effective in inflating asset markets, in turn worsening the inequality that is feeding populist and anti-globalization sentiment around the world.  The risk is that these forces lead to the loss of central banks’ independence and greater direct government control over the money printing presses, which historically has almost inevitably led to higher inflation.  And while this remains a low probability outcome, at least in the short term, it would be dangerous to dismiss it outright. As a result, we are taking the other side of the ‘deflation trade’ with overweights to inflation-sensitive assets like TIPS, RRBs, gold and other commodities.

 

Canada is in the clear?

The market continues to be discounting a relatively optimistic outlook for the Canadian economy. Chart 3 shows 2-year bond yields in various advanced market economies, which reflect both current and future expectations of short-term interest rates. Canada is the highest yielder, which effectively suggests that the economy is seen as less in need of stimulus than just about any other country – an expectation reinforced by the recent rebound in housing markets.

Chart 3 – Canada seen needing less stimulus

Chart 3 – Canada seen needing less stimulus
2-year government bond yields
Chart 3 – Canada seen needing less stimulus
Source: Bloomberg

 

But Canadian economic growth has already long been relying almost exclusively on housing and the consumer more generally, funded by record levels of household debt, to the point where these sectors represent their highest share of GDP in more than 50 years.  At the same time, the more productive sectors of the economy—exports and business investment—have contributed almost nothing to growth in recent years. This type and degree of economic of imbalance has not proved to be sustainable anywhere else in the world, and it is not likely to be in Canada either. The exact timing of when this imbalance will be unwound remains uncertain, but the market seems too complacent in barely pricing in this risk. As a result, we have generally underweighted assets levered to the Canadian economy, including the currency.

Let us conclude with a third quotation: “Hit ‘em where they ain’t”.  This one is attributed to Wee Willie Keeler, a baseball player in the 19th century explaining his batting prowess.  There is wisdom here too for investors.  Allocating to assets into which investors are already crowded based on consensus expectations is unlikely to lead to outperformance. It’s where those expectations are inappropriately certain that there is value to be added by investing where markets ‘ain’t’.  We can’t be sure what’s going to happen in 2020, but nobody else can either, and we will continue to seek to take advantage of market overconfidence in positioning for strong risk-adjusted returns in our Canadian multi asset class funds.


Commissions, trailing commissions, management fees and expenses all may be associated with mutual fund investments. Please read the prospectus, which contains detailed investment information, before investing. Mutual funds are not guaranteed, their values change frequently, and past performance may not be repeated.

From time to time a manager, analyst or other Fidelity employee may express views regarding a particular company, security, and industry or market sector. The views expressed by any such person are the views of only that individual as of the time expressed and do not necessarily represent the views of Fidelity or any other person in the Fidelity organization. Any such views are subject to change at any time, based upon markets and other conditions, and Fidelity disclaims any responsibility to update such views. These views may not be relied on as investment advice and, because investment decisions for a Fidelity Fund are based on numerous factors, may not be relied on as an indication of trading intent on behalf of any Fidelity Fund.

Certain Statements in this commentary may contain forward-looking statements (“FLS”) that are predictive in nature and may include words such as “expects”, “anticipates”, “intends”, “plans”, “believes”, “estimates” and similar forward-looking expressions or negative versions thereof. FLS are based on current expectations and projections about future general economic, political and relevant market factors, such as interest and assuming no changes to applicable tax or other laws or government regulation. Expectations and projections about future events are inherently subject to, among other things, risks and uncertainties, some of which may be unforeseeable and, accordingly, may prove to be incorrect at a future date. FLS are not guarantees of future performance, and actual events could differ materially from those expressed or implied in any FLS. A number of important factors can contribute to these digressions, including, but not limited to, general economic, political and market factors in North America and internationally, interest and foreign exchange rates, global equity and capital markets, business competition and catastrophic events. You should avoid placing any undue reliance on FLS. Further, there is no specific intentional of updating any FLS whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.

“Fidelity Investments” and/or “Fidelity” refers collectively to: i) FMR LLC, a US company, and certain subsidiaries, including Fidelity Management & Research Company (FMR Co.) and Fidelity Management & Research (Canada) ULC (“FMR-Canada”) – which carries on business in British Columbia as FMR Investments Canada ULC; and ii) Fidelity Investments Canada ULC (“FIC”) and its affiliates. Fidelity Management & Research (Canada) ULC (“FMRCanada”) commenced business in Ontario on February 1, 2018. FMRCanada is registered as a portfolio manager with the Ontario Securities Commission (“OSC”) and as a portfolio manager with the other Canadian securities commissions. The scope of FMR-Canada’s business is currently limited to offering the Global Asset Allocation (“GAA”) strategies through a discrete portfolio management team at FMR-Canada. The GAA strategies are offered by FMR-Canada on a sub-advised basis to accounts advised by Fidelity Investments Canada ULC (“FIC”), with FMR-Canada acting as either direct sub-adviser to FIC or as sub-sub-adviser through non-Canadian Fidelity advisers, including (and principally) US SEC-registered investment advisers, such as FMR Co., Inc. (“FMRCo”). FMR-Canada does not offer these strategies directly to investors in Canada. FMR-Canada has also registered “Fidelity Investments” as a trade name in Canada.

Read a fund’s or pool’s prospectus or offering memorandum and speak to an advisor before investing. Read our privacy policy. By using or logging in to this website, you consent to the use of cookies as described in our privacy policy.

This site is for persons in Canada only. Mutual funds and ETFs sponsored by Fidelity Investments Canada ULC are only qualified for sale in the provinces and territories of Canada.

266428-v2020122

Close Search

" Frappez là où personne ne s’y attend "

David Wolf l Gestionnaire de portefeuille
David Tulk, CFA l Gestionnaire de portefeuille

Points à retenir

  • « Le danger, ce n’est pas ce qu’on ignore; c’est ce que l’on tient pour certain et qui ne l’est pas. »
  • Les marchés semblent faire preuve d’un excès de confiance envers les actions américaines, sous-estimant l’inflation et la résilience de l’économie canadienne.
  • Nos fonds à multiples catégories d’actifs sont positionnés de manière à tirer parti d’un scénario différent.

Permettez-nous de commencer l’année 2020 avec deux citations célèbres (attribuées selon le cas à Mark Twain ou à Yogi Berra) qui contiennent selon nous des perles de sagesse étonnamment pertinentes pour les investisseurs.

« Faire des prédictions est difficile... surtout quand il s’agit de prédire l’avenir. »​

Le début d’une nouvelle année apporte inévitablement son lot de prévisions économiques et boursières. Quand on les combine, ces prévisions représentent les attentes consensuelles qui déterminent la tarification des actifs financiers. Pourtant, elles s’avèrent presque toujours erronées. De nouveaux renseignements remettent continuellement le consensus en question et le marché doit s’adapter, souvent en apportant des changements importants. Par exemple, le virage expansionniste de la Réserve fédérale américaine (Fed), qui en a surpris plus d’un, s’est traduit par une année 2019 très solide pour les actions et les obligations mondiales. Nous ne sommes qu’en janvier et déjà, l’éclosion du coronavirus de Wuhan et l’escalade des tensions au Moyen-Orient remettent en question plusieurs prévisions pour 2020. La leçon à tirer de cette situation, c’est que bien que la formulation de prévisions puisse être un exercice nécessaire pour les investisseurs, elle n’en est pas moins exceptionnellement difficile.

« Le danger, ce n’est pas ce qu’on ignore; c’est ce que l’on tient pour certain et qui ne l’est pas. »

L’être humain a naturellement tendance à penser que le monde est plus prévisible qu’il ne l’est en réalité. Cela se traduit souvent par une certitude inappropriée de la part des investisseurs, ainsi que par une tarification boursière correspondante. Pour reprendre l’exemple ci-dessus, il y a un an, les marchés étaient persuadés que les taux de rendement des obligations du Trésor américain à 10 ans remonteraient vers leurs sommets cycliques d’environ 3,25 %. Pourtant, à la fin de 2019, les taux s’établissaient à peine à la moitié du niveau prévu en raison de l’affaiblissement de l’économie mondiale et des mesures d’assouplissement de la Fed.

Une des pierres angulaires de notre démarche de placement consiste par conséquent à ne pas nous attaquer au défi quasi impossible de formuler de meilleures prévisions que les marchés, et à rechercher plutôt les occasions où les marchés semblent tenir pour certain des facteurs qui ne le sont pas, puis à adopter une approche différente.

En gardant cette approche à l’esprit, alors même que nous amorçons une nouvelle décennie, nous traitons ci-dessous de trois secteurs où nous structurons les Fonds canadiens à multiples catégories d’actifs de manière à tirer parti des surprises qui pourraient perturber les attentes consensuelles.

Une surperformance du marché boursier américain?

Les investisseurs sont persuadés que le marché boursier américain est le marché par excellence. Cela a effectivement été le cas au cours des dix dernières années, le marché boursier américain ayant inscrit un rendement total d’environ 250 %, contre 65 % pour le reste du monde (voir le Tableau 1). Cette surperformance a été attribuable non seulement à la vigueur relative de l’économie américaine pendant la période, mais aussi au type d’entreprises cotées en bourse aux États-Unis, et particulièrement à la prévalence des actions technologiques axées sur la croissance.

Tableau 1 - Une divergence qui semble insoutenable

Tableau 1 - Une divergence qui semble insoutenable
Cours boursiers
Chart 1 – An unsustainable-looking divergence Equity prices
Sources : S&P, MSCI, Haver Analytics et FMR Co.

 

L’éventail varié de paramètres fondamentaux au cours des dix dernières années pourrait effectivement justifier cet écart entre le marché américain et les autres marchés (cette différence est comparable à la divergence de style entre les actions de croissance et les actions de valeur, ce qui n’est certainement pas un hasard). Toutefois, sur le plan historique, de telles divergences s’inversent presque toujours lorsque les investisseurs sont trop certains que la tendance se poursuivra indéfiniment, ce qui crée des occasions pour ceux qui vont à contre-courant. C’est d’ailleurs pour cette raison que nous avons diminué notre participation aux actions américaines pour privilégier d’autres régions du monde laissées pour compte. Plusieurs segments des marchés boursiers européens, japonais et émergents semblent bénéficier d’une meilleure marge de manœuvre pour devancer les attentes comparativement au marché américain. Ce dernier est en effet plus coûteux et la valorisation de nombreuses sociétés semble fondée sur un scénario idéal.

 

L’inflation, une chose du passé?

Le Tableau 2 illustre indirectement les attentes du marché en matière d’inflation au Canada, qui se situe bien en deçà du taux de 2 % visé par la Banque du Canada. Il en va de même dans plusieurs autres parties du monde : les marchés semblent dans l’ensemble persuadés que l’inflation a disparu pour de bon. Cette attente concorde certainement avec la dernière décennie, pendant laquelle le taux d’inflation est demeuré obstinément bas malgré les efforts extraordinaires des banques centrales pour stimuler l’économie en injectant des fonds comme jamais elles ne l’ont fait auparavant. Mais selon nous, c’est peut-être justement l’absence d’inflation qui accroît le risque d’une hausse de l’inflation dans l’avenir, principalement pour la raison qui suit.

Tableau 2 - « Assurance gratuite » contre l’inflation

Tableau 2 - « Assurance gratuite » contre l’inflation
Différence entre les taux nominaux et réels des obligations du gouvernement canadien
Chart 2 – ‘Free insurance’ against inflation
Sources : Haver Analytics et FMR Co.

 

De nombreuses personnes croient que les banques centrales ont moins bien réussi à produire des résultats économiques solides qu’à gonfler les marchés des actifs, ce qui a contribué à creuser les inégalités qui alimentent les mouvements populistes et altermondialistes à l’échelle mondiale. Le risque, c’est que de telles forces entraînent la perte d’indépendance des banques centrales et un contrôle accru de l’État sur l’impression de la monnaie, ce qui, par le passé, a presque inévitablement donné lieu à une augmentation de l’inflation. Bien qu’un tel résultat demeure peu probable, du moins à court terme, il serait risqué de le balayer du revers de la main. Par conséquent, nous privilégions une attitude opposée à la déflation en optant pour la surpondération d’actifs sensibles à l’inflation, comme les titres du Trésor américain indexés sur l’inflation (TIPS), les obligations à rendement réel (ORR), l’or et d’autres marchandises.

 

Le Canada est-il au bout de ses peines?

Le marché continue de prendre en compte des perspectives relativement optimistes à l’égard de l’économie canadienne. Le Tableau 3 illustre les taux de rendement des bons du Trésor à 2 ans de diverses économies développées, qui reflètent à la fois les attentes courantes et futures à l’égard des taux d’intérêt à court terme. C’est au Canada que les taux de rendement sont les plus élevés, ce qui porte à croire que l’économie a moins besoin de mesures de relance que la plupart des autres pays. Cette attente a été renforcée par la remontée récente des marchés de l’habitation.

Tableau 3 - Le Canada a moins besoin des mesures de relance

Tableau 3 - Le Canada a moins besoin des mesures de relance
Taux de rendement des obligations du gouvernement à deux ans
Chart 3 – Canada seen needing less stimulus
Source : Bloomberg

 

 


Les placements dans les fonds communs de placement peuvent être assortis de commissions, de commissions de suivi, de frais de gestion et de charges. Veuillez lire le prospectus d’un fonds avant d’investir, car il contient des renseignements détaillés sur les placements. Les fonds communs de placement ne sont pas garantis; leur valeur est appelée à fluctuer fréquemment et le rendement passé pourrait ou non être reproduit.

De temps à autre, un gestionnaire, analyste ou autre employé de Fidelity peut exprimer une opinion sur une société, un titre, une industrie ou un secteur du marché. Les opinions exprimées par ces personnes représentent un point de vue personnel à un moment donné et ne constituent pas nécessairement celles de Fidelity ou d’autres personnes au sein de l’organisation. Ces opinions sont appelées à changer à tout moment en fonction de l’évolution des marchés et d’autres facteurs, et Fidelity décline toute responsabilité en ce qui a trait à la mise à jour de ces points de vue. Ceux-ci ne peuvent pas être considérés comme des conseils en placement fiables, ni comme une indication d’achat ou de vente visant un Fonds Fidelity, car les décisions de placement relatives aux Fonds Fidelity sont prises en fonction de nombreux facteurs.

Certaines déclarations formulées dans ce commentaire peuvent contenir des énoncés prospectifs de nature prévisionnelle pouvant inclure des termes tels que « prévoit », « anticipe », « a l’intention », « planifie », « croit », « estime » et d’autres expressions semblables ou leurs versions négatives correspondantes. Les énoncés prospectifs s’appuient sur des attentes et prévisions visant des facteurs généraux pertinents liés à la situation économique, au contexte politique et aux conditions du marché, comme les taux d’intérêt, et supposent qu’aucun changement n’est apporté au taux d’imposition en vigueur ni aux autres lois ou législations gouvernementales applicables. Les attentes et les prévisions à l’égard d’événements futurs sont intrinsèquement soumises, entre autres, aux risques et incertitudes parfois imprévisibles, et peuvent, par conséquent, se révéler incorrectes à l’avenir. Les énoncés prospectifs ne sont pas une garantie des rendements futurs, et les événements réels pourraient être substantiellement différents de ceux anticipés ou projetés dans les énoncés prospectifs. Certains éléments importants peuvent contribuer à ces écarts, y compris, notamment, les facteurs généraux liés à la situation économique, au contexte politique et aux conditions du marché en Amérique du Nord ou ailleurs dans le monde, les taux d’intérêt et de change, les marchés boursiers et les marchés des capitaux mondiaux, la concurrence commerciale et les catastrophes. Vous devez donc éviter de vous fier indûment aux énoncés prospectifs. En outre, nous n’avons pas l’intention de mettre à jour ces énoncés à la suite de l’obtention de nouveaux renseignements, de la concrétisation d’événements futurs ou pour quelque autre raison que ce soit.

« Fidelity Investments » et/ou « Fidelity » désignent collectivement : i) FMR LLC, une société américaine, et certaines filiales qui comprennent Fidelity Management & Research Company (FMR Co.) et Fidelity Management & Research (Canada) ULC (FMR-Canada) – qui exerce ses activités en Colombie-Britannique sous le nom de FMR Investments Canada ULC; et ii) Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. (FIC) et ses sociétés affiliées. FMR-Canada a commencé ses activités en Ontario le 1er février 2018 et est enregistrée à titre de gestionnaire de portefeuille auprès de la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l’Ontario (CVMO) et des autres autorités canadiennes en valeurs mobilières. Les activités de FMR-Canada se limitent actuellement à l’offre de stratégies de répartition mondiale de l’actif par une équipe de gestion de portefeuille discrète au sein de la société. FMR-Canada offre ces stratégies en qualité de sous-conseiller pour les comptes dont le conseiller est FIC, agissant alors à titre de sous-conseiller direct de FIC ou de sous-conseiller par l’intermédiaire de conseillers Fidelity qui ne sont pas Canadiens, notamment (et principalement) des conseillers en placements inscrits auprès de la Securities and Exchange Commission des États-Unis, comme FMR Co. FMR-Canada n’offre pas directement ces stratégies aux investisseurs canadiens. Le nom « Fidelity Investments » a été enregistré en tant que marque de commerce déposée au Canada par FMR-Canada.

Veuillez lire le prospectus ou la notice d'offre d'un fonds ou d’un mandat et consulter un conseiller en placements avant d’investir. Veuillez lire notre politique de confidentialité. En utilisant notre site Web ou en ouvrant une session, vous consentez à l’utilisation de témoins, telle qu’elle est décrite dans notre politique de confidentialité.  

Ce site est réservé aux personnes qui résident au Canada. Les fonds communs de placement et les FNB commandités par Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. ne peuvent être vendus que dans les provinces et territoires du Canada.

266428-v2020122

Close Search